Armand Hammer — We Buy Diabetic Test Strips — Album Review

Joe Boothby
3 min readOct 19, 2023

--

Experimental | Hip-Hop | Rap

Listen on Spotify | Listen on Apple Music

With just how busy I have been so far in October, there have been a great deal of exciting albums that I have been sitting on, and this one I am reviewing today is certainly no exception.

Said album sees the return of Armand Hammer, a collaborative musical force made up of billy woods, and E L U C I D, both rap artists that have proven their exceptional uniqueness and standout quality.

And while I had know of these artists individually prior, (at least by name), my first true introduction to Armand Hammer came in the form of 2021’s Haram, and album which not only saw the duo enlist some truly marvellous production from The Alchemist, Haram rightfully secured its place as one of my favourite albums of that entire musical year.

That being said, I was incredibly excited to discover the return of Armand Hammer in the form of their brand new album, and the sixth in their discography, which they had named We Buy Diabetic Test Strips.

The only semblance I had that this album was coming came in the form of two teaser tracks, titled “Woke Up And Asked Siri How I’m Gonna Die” (which, funnily enough, had JPEGMAFIA behind the producer’s steering wheel) and “Trauma Mic”. Grant it; I perhaps didn’t give these tracks as much attention as I ended up doing on the album as a whole, but I think it really set the standard for the insanely gritty and atmospheric project this ended up being.

In short, We Buy Diabetic Test Strips personifies the aesthetics of these two hip-hop masterminds perfectly, and fully showcases their creativity and unique musical quirks. Along with some very great feature appearances, this album feels like a love letter to Hip-Hop true underground and experimental grit.

Much like on Haram, these two artists compliment each other perfectly. While billy woods is showing off his stupendous flows in the verses of each track, E L U C I D champions each of the hooks that are on this thing. Paired with a diverse and engaging line-up of insanely creative beats, the resulting concoction stands as a record that never stops being exciting; a true gift to listeners from the unstoppable force that is Armand Hammer.

And with a tracklist of 15 songs and a runtime of just under an hour, this album is definitely a generous one as well. Both billy woods and E L U C I D have been known to be true productive forces this year, so the fact that both of them have managed to deliver an album of this quality on top of that is truly impressive.

And while I love both of these artists individually, We Buy Diabetic Test Strips serves as the newest example of how these two reach their absolute peak when combining their talents.

Favourite Tracks: When It Doesn’t Start With A Kiss | I Keep A Mirror In My Pocket | Trauma Mic | The Gods Must Be Crazy | Empire BLVD | Don’t Lose Your Job

Fat Possum Records

Final Score: 93%

--

--

Joe Boothby

My articles mainly revolve around music reviews and analysis. A bit like Anthony Fantano, but just a decade behind.