Don Toliver — Love Sick — Album Review

Joe Boothby
3 min readMar 2, 2023

--

Hip-Hop | RnB

Listen on Spotify | Listen on Apple Music

Houston, Texas hip-hop artist Don Toliver was somebody who I initially discovered through various features, which wound up with me enjoying his vocal style enough tho venture into the release of his sophomore studio album Life of a DON, in 2021, which to this day stands as a very solid record, which successfully showcased both his vocal talents and versatility.

That being said, I was excited to discover that early 2023 would see the release of his third album, titled Love Sick. As per usual, I didn’t get chance to listen to any of the many teaser tracks going into this record. Therefore, I was going into this album completely fresh.

But even as I was quickly sifting through the initial skin-through of the album, I was impressed by the heightened level of atmosphere carried by the production, which definitely had a more vibrant and consistent feel than the prior album.

And yes, with its 16 tracks (not accounting for the extra four tracks we got on the deluxe version), this album has a very generous helping of enjoyable moments, full of the wavy atmosphere that Don Toliver champions with the addition of his vocals.

I will say that, with said production, my only very minor gripe is that Love sick strikes me as an album that atmospherically would’ve worked far better as a summer album. In a time where many in the UK are impatiently waiting for it to get warmer, this album sonically reeks of that warm summertime feel. But hey, maybe it’s like that in Texas already.

And while that is where my gripes with the production are laid to rest, it is unfortunately not my only criticism as a whole. Where I feel that this album loosened its grip on me a little is with its lyrics.

It’s no secret at this point that the Hip-hop community is highly saturated by the same template of lyrical themes, but it has rarely felt so blatantly obvious as on Love Sick. The whole thing does admittedly feel quite lyrically hollow, leading me to struggle to engage with the artist themselves as much as I did on Life of a DON.

But moving away from my more negative criticisms, it’s time to turn back to the positives; I would say that where Don Toliver slightly lacks in the lyrical department, me makes up for vocally. I’ve spoken before about the vocal appeal of Don Toliver, but the select moments (especially the more tender ones) where these particular talents shine bright, prove to be some of the most atmospherically impressive moments I’ve heard in his discography.

All in all, I can’t deny that Love Sick does leave me with mixed emotions towards the whole thing. But, I digress, given my feelings towards the summer-like atmosphere of this record, it may just be a matter of time before I find a newfound appreciation towards this third album.

Favourite Tracks: Time Heals All | Leather Coat | If I Had

Least Favourite Track: Bus Stop

Cactus Jack | Atlantic Records

Final Score: 68%

--

--

Joe Boothby

My articles mainly revolve around music reviews and analysis. A bit like Anthony Fantano, but just a decade behind.